Beachbum Berry Remixed: Go all out Tiki!

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn

We have tiki historian and hero Jeffrey Berry to thank, in large part, for the current global resurgence of the Tiki trend. He is author of Beachbum Berry’s Grog Log (1998) and Intoxica! (2002), and subsequently integrated both of these works with new material for Remixed (2009). His new book Beachbum Berry Remixed is already a must have. Review.

Beachbum Berry Remixed cocktail tiki
Tiki is perhaps the cocktail myth most able to transport you through time and space. It is, like the very popular Speakeasy culture, “based in reality” but also far from it.

Tiki, what’s the story?

The Tiki trend, born at the beginning of the 20th century (20’s), originally relied on faux exotic adventure, happening in the not so exotic location of North America. Initially introduced through books and films often featuring an intrepid explorer becoming lost on a Polynesian island and discovering the indigenous culture; it subsequently infiltrated multiple disciplines like architecture, decoration and even the bar to become a veritable lifestyle. Indeed, when Tiki was first introduced to the general public, it was through adoption and marketing by hotels and restaurants. The Tiki bar was the last venue to arrive on the scene thanks to Prohibition in the United States from 1920 to 1933.  The Tiki bar caught up quickly and is the only expression that has truly survived through modern day, with all the tiki-themed hotels and restaurants having closed over the years.

And the survival of this “culture” owes much to one of its champions, Jeff “Beachbum” Berry aka Jeffrey Berry who has spent his life documenting, through historical research, hundreds of recipes that otherwise would have disappeared into the forgotten debris of restaurant and bar closures. His exacting investigative work is illustrated by his quest for the original zombie recipe, which covered nearly ten years. His three decades worth of recipes already gave rise to two books, which he subsequently compiled and remixed into one when Tiki began re-establishing itself on the cocktail scene.


ALSO READ: MEET WITH “TIKI MAESTRO” DANIELE DALLA POLLA


Immediately, the book takes us over 13,000 km of French territory, and that’s good news for rum enthusiasts.  For the cocktail enthusiast, Tiki is a rum-soaked dream giving them the occasion to appreciate their own rum collections and make the most of new combinations and flavours.

Every page of this book showcases the colossal work accomplished here, giving the reader ample opportunity to take pleasure in finding a favourite flavourful rum recipe. Similarly, cocktail geeks will experience a special thrill when face to face with the historical recipe, one that took years for Berry to discover and decipher. And those familiar with the personality of Beachbum, know that he take

Scale the summit of crushed ice

Note, it’s not about Tiki made just any old way! Beachbum provides solid recommendations from the start. You need a solid blender, a good ice crushing machine, astronomical quantities of rum and be ready and willing to apron up! Yes, Tiki demands plenty of preparation, but it can be an exceptional way to highlight your best bottles. In more top shelf bottles, the rums mentioned are very often “gold” and “dark.” The author gives us a glossary of rums, with references sourced from all over, but often at very accessible prices, from €15 to €40.

Moreover, before leaving your lovely vieux agricoles behind the bar – thinking them inappropriate as the rhum Agricole wave had not yet hit the US at the time of publishing – consider that Martinique rum is found in the original recipe for the mascot of tiki: the Mai Taï.

Beachbum Berry Remixed cocktail tiki

Tiki’s legendary recipes

We remain definitely hooked to almost 7 pages on the history of Maï Taï, and its different recipes. For the more refined pallets, we have referenced the Trader Vic recipe…

Mai Tai (Trader Vic 1944)

– 3cl freshly squeezed lime juice
– 1,5cl of curacao, use a good quality, such as Pierre Ferrand
– 0,7cl of orgeat syrup (try to make it home, good recipes can be found on line, try Colada (laughs)
– 0,7 cl of simple sugar syrup (same things as above)
– 3 cl of old Jamaican
– 3 cl of Martinique Agricole VS

Place all items in cocktail shaker, shake and pour directly into serving glass, ice and all.

It’s easy to delight in the Zombie’s history complete with fascinating anecdotes and its indulgent, guilty pleasure. However, the cocktail recipe has long remained incomplete, due to the presence of a secret ingredient, unearthed for you by the “Bum”. Those who know him know are aware of his stealthy talents in this area, which might surprise the uninitiated.

But the author proposes a modern recipe, which is simpler for the beginner to execute, concentrating on the flambé banana flavours typical of Jamaica

Coconaut (1994 par Jeff Berry)

– 24 cl cream of Coco, Coco Lopez
– 6 cl freshly squeezed lime juice
– 21 cl old Jamaican (take Appleton Reserve Blend for example)

Blend all together with lots of ice, for a chunky texture.

Must Have Tiki

This book is primarily a collection of recipes, 107 of which were added to the merger of his two previous books for 240 recipes in total. Of course, it includes the story of the most emblematic Tiki cocktails and doesn’t leave you to go solo in pursuit of this art. Tips and small illustrations provide further guidance.

Beachbum Berry RemixedReader Tip: read the recommendations, introductions, chapter headers, and then peruse the hundreds of recipes. One thing is for sure, Beachbum has accomplished the labour of a lifetime, tackling the work of a real detective by unearthing Tiki mysteries, long since buried by creators determined to take them to their graves.

Don’t overlook the simple beauty of this book, illustrated with vintage advertisements and small drawings integrated throughout. And most importantly, rum enthusiasts have certainly accumulated more rum than is possible to drink in a lifetime. This is an opportunity to share your treasure with friends and that’s always a good thing. Tiki calls for rums from many different provenances, so break out the syrups and break into this incredible universe.


Beachbum Berry Remixed

A titanic work, in a light, informative and practical format. And all at a great price, it’s a must have. Perfect for using your fantastic collection of rum, rum, ron!

Available in English only on Amazon

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé. À consommer avec modération.
X
preloader

Beachbum Berry Remixed : et si vous vous lanciez enfin dans le Tiki ?

This article is available in : en

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn

Historien et porte-étendard du courant Tiki, c’est probablement grâce à Beachbum Berry que l’on doit ce retour Mondial du courant Tiki. Il est l’auteur de Beachbum Berry’s Grog Log (1998) et Intoxica! (2002), réunit tous les deux en 2009 dans ce Remixed qui contient également de nombreuses additions.

Beachbum Berry Remixed cocktail tiki
Le Tiki est peut-être le folklore cocktail le plus capable de vous transporter dans le temps et dans l’espace. Il a été, comme le très populaire Speakeasy, « construit à partir de faits réels » bien que s’éloignant assez vite de la réalité.

Tiki, késako ?

Ce courant, né au début du XXème siècle (20’s), témoigne d’aventures faussement exotiques, puisque ça se passe en Amérique du Nord. D’abord animé par des livres et des films mettant bien souvent en scène un explorateur perdu sur les iles polynésiennes et découvrant la culture autochtone, il s’et largement infiltré dans tous les domaines de l’architecture à la décoration puis au bar pour devenir un véritable lifestyle. En effet en rencontrant son public, le Tiki s’est merchandisé et matérialisé sous la forme d’hôtels et de restaurants. En dernier, le bar Tiki est arrivé. En dernier puisque l’alcool était prohibé aux Etats-Unis de 1920 à 1933. Il a fallu que ce petit dernier rattrape son retard. Parti en retard, le bar tiki est néanmoins le seul à avoir perduré et aujourd’hui, les quasi seuls survivants du courant Tiki sont bien les cocktails, tous les hôtels/restaurants ayant fermé.

Et la survie de cette « culture » doit beaucoup à un de ses bardes Jeff Bum Berry alias Jeffrey Berry qui a passé sa vie à répertorier, via un vrai travail d’historien, des centaines de recettes qui, sans lui, auraient disparu dans les poubelles des fermetures des restaurants et de bars. Son passionnant travail d’enquête est illustré par sa quête de la recette originale du zombie qui lui aura pris près de dix ans. Ses trois décennies de recettes avait déjà donné lieu à deux livres, il les compile et remix en un seul, à l’heure où le tiki se ré-installe durablement dans le paysage cocktail.

Sitôt abordé, le livre nous emporte à 13 000 km du territoire hexagonal, et c’est tant mieux pour les amateurs de rhum.  Car le Tiki qui est pour tout amateur de cocktail un rêve fait la part belle au  rhum, l’occasion de se servir de sa collection et de prolonger l’expérience dans la découverte des accords et des nouvelles saveurs.

Ce livre reflète à chaque instant le travail colossal accompli et le lecteur éprouve un plaisir presque jouissif à l’idée de retrouver ses rhums préférés dans des recettes hautes en couleurs et en saveurs. De même, quel plaisir pour les passionnés aux tendances «geekesques » de se retrouver en face de LA recette historique, celle qui a pris des années à l’historien Jeff Berry à retrouver ou déchiffrer. Soit dit en passant, Beachbum –le clodo des plages-, de son surnom, tient plus d’Indiana Jones que du rat de bibliothèque à en croire son histoire…

Gravir le sommet de glace pilée

Attention, n’est pas Tiki –ki- veut ! A ce titre, Beachbum fournit son lot de recommandations et ce, dès les premières page. Il faut mixeur solide, une bonne machine à broyer la glace, disposer de quantités astronomiques de rhums et être prêt à enfiler un tablier. Oui le Tiki nécessite beaucoup de préparation, mais il est la voie royale à la mise en exergue de vos plus beaux flacons. Par plus beaux flacons, les rhums mentionnés sont très souvent des « gold » -dorés- et des « dark » (sombres ou vieux). L’auteur nous gratifie d’un glossaire des rhums, conseillant des références de rhums de toute provenance –bien souvent accessibles, de 15€ à 40€.

D’ailleurs, avant de laisser au placard vos beaux vieux agricoles en pensant que ceux-ci ne vous seront d’aucune utilité  parce qu’à l’époque où ce livre a été publié, la vague agricole n’avait pas encore toujours les Etats-Unis, pensez que le rhum martiniquais entre dans la recette originale du Maï Taï, la figure de proue du Tiki

Beachbum Berry Remixed cocktail tiki

Les recettes légendaires du Tiki

On reste définitivement accroché aux presque 7 pages sur l’histoire du Maï Taï, et ses différentes recettes. On citera pour la fine bouche la recette du Trader Vic…

Mai Tai (Trader Vic 1944)

– 3cl de jus de citron vert fraichement pressé
– 1,5cl de curaçao, prenez en un bon, celui Pierre Ferrand est une référence
– 0,7cl de sirop d’orgeat (essayez de le faire maison, de bonnes recettes circulent sur internet, essayez celle de Colada (rires))
– 0,7 cl de sirop de sucre simple (même chose qu’au-dessus)
– 3 cl de vieux jamaïcain
– 3 cl de martiniquais agricole VS

Au shaker, servir sans filtrer, avec la glace cassée du shaker.

Se délecter devant l’histoire du Zombie et ses anecdotes croustillantes est également un plaisir coupable et un luxe. La recette du cocktail est longtemps restée incomplète, dû à la présence d’un ingrédient secret, déchiffré pour vous par le « Bum ». Ceux qui le connaissent savent tout de sa force sournoise, qui prendra par surprise le buveur un peu trop optimiste.

Mais c’est bien une recette moderne de l’auteur qu’on mentionnera, plus simple à réaliser pour le débutant, se concentrant sur les arômes de banane flambée typiques de Jamaïque

Coconaut (1994 par Jeff Berry)

– 24 cl de crème de Coco, Coco Lopez
– 6 cl de jus de citron vert fraichement pressé
– 21 cl de vieux jamaïcain (prenez Appleton Reserve Blend par exemple)

Directement au mixeur avec beaucoup de glaçons, avoir une texture de granité.

Must Have Tiki

Ce livre est avant tout un recueil de recettes, dont 107 ont été ajoutées à la fusion de 2 de ses anciens livres avec 240 recettes au total. Il fait bien entendu la part belle à l’histoire des cocktails Tiki les plus emblématiques et ne vous laissera pas seul dans la poursuite de cet art. Conseils de réalisation et petites illustrations au programme.

Beachbum Berry RemixedConseils de lecture : lisez les parties recommandations, les introductions, les débuts de chapitre, puis flânez à travers les centaines de recettes. Une chose est sûre, Beachbum a accompli le travail d’une vie, entreprenant une vraie démarche de détective pour déterrer les mystères Tiki bien enfouis par ses créateurs et décidés à les emporter dans leurs tombes.

Insistons sur la beauté du livre, illustré de vieilles publicités, petits dessins, qui sont toujours bien intégrés Dernière chose, les amateurs de rhum ont certainement accumulé plus de rhum qu’il n’est possible de boire en une vie. L’occasion donc de partager ce trésor avec ses amis et ça tombe bien: le Tiki est hautement consommateur des rhums de provenances différentes, motivez-vous sur les sirops et accédez à cet univers incroyable.


Beachbum Berry Remixed

Un travail de titan, dans un format léger, instructif et pratique. Le tout pour un tarif très contenu, un must have. Parfait pour utiliser votre collection fantasque de rhum, rum, ron !

Disponible en anglais uniquement sur Amazon


www.colada.fr

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn

This article is available in : en

Pas encore de commentaires

Comments are closed

L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé. À consommer avec modération.
X
preloader